Road Patrol

Road Patrol consists of 21 deputies. This includes two sergeants, a K9 unit, six school resource officers, and regular road patrol deputies.

After graduation from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (14 weeks), every officer/deputy in the State of Kansas is required to have 40 hours/year of in-service training, to keep the officers/deputies current on training in areas of the job such as search and seizure, investigations, and use of force. The road patrol deputies that aren't assigned a specific task such as civil process or interdiction, patrol the rural roads, highways, and interstates, and help patrol and back officers in the cities when needed. They respond to pass crime reports, in-progress calls, and traffic accidents, detect/apprehend drunk/intoxicated drivers, enforce traffic laws, and assist citizens who need help with a broken-down vehicle or other emergencies.